It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at ant early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

On one hand, punishment serves a form of deterrence. Being punished by doing bad things, enabling the child to know what kind of behaviour should be discouraged. For example, there is a place called time-out corner in a kindergarten. If a kid bullies other kids in a playground, he or she will send to the corner for 15 minutes and won't allow playing in this period. This act withdraws him/her from an enriched and enjoyable environment in order to deter inappropriate behaviour and teach the child that engaging in problem behaviour will result in decreased access to reinforcing items and events in the child's environment. This apparently helps to deter his/her offending behaviour in further.

On the other hand, learning right and wrong can be achieved by reward. People feel content when they are rewarded. People tend to memorize good things rather bad things. If kids are doing great, we can reward them in some ways, like praising them or treating them a candy. Praise nurtures child’s self-esteem, confidence and sense of self. Praising helps children learn how to recognize when he does well and more likely to repeat behaviour that earns praise.

In conclusion, establishing an appropriate moral standard for children can be achieved by both punishment and reward. But physical punishment should be prohibited.