It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree with this Opinion?

What sort of punishment are parents and teachers allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children

It is imperative that children differentiate between correct and incorrect choices at younger age, but because of trauma, I completely disagree that punishing them is a necessary method to be adopted. However, if this is inevitable, it must be limited to a mild one.

Curiously though, of what benefit will it be for both the children and the society if the youngsters learn acceptable moral behaviours but are physically or psychologically traumatized ? Of course, none. Childhood trauma, which is caused by physical injury or mental abuse through punishment, is negatively affecting about 13% of the young generations in the US, according to the University of Winchester. This indicates that the consequence of inflicting pain on young ones tend to be gravely and also, might be long-term. Enthusiastically, the tertiary institution furthered their research and discovered that about 67% of children often effectively acquire and retain some knowledge if they are treated warmly. So, it is clear that children can learn without going through pain.

But, as mentioned earlier, inevitably, there might be an exception. In this situation, only a gentle discipline should be permitted on the young adults. This notion is evidenced by the 2005 pool result of the Union of Family Affairs, Nevada, which showed that the majority of children usually succumb to the right choices when they realise that if they opt for the unacceptable decision, they will write a particular phrase, perhaps, a hundred times on a paper. Having known this, they became more cautious of their actions, for they did not want to be disciplined 'softly'.

Inasmuch as punishment is a contributing factor to a childhood trauma, and children can learn better in an amiable condition, inflicting pain on them is not necessary, although tenderly disciplining them might be accepted.