Some businesses observe that new employees who just graduated from a college or university seem to lack interpersonal skills needed for communication with their colleagues. What could be the reason for this? What solutions can help address this problem?

Newly employed graduates lack some interpersonal skills that are needed to communicate effectively at workplace. Two primary reasons for this worrisome development are academic structure and parents, but there are measures to be taken to ensure that this problem is tackled.

I believe that graduates are deficient in social skills to interact in offices mainly for two reasons. First and foremost, since the majority of students are aware that they are assessed based on their ability to write down answers in details rather than their performances, they mostly pay attention to the textbooks and read as much as possible rather than prioritize practical. To make matters worse, hardly do these students do industrial training work placement when they are on holidays because schools do not often mandate it as part of their curriculum. Parents, furthermore, usually discourage their offering from having extra curricular activities which would have had positive effect on the communication skills of graduates at work if they were engaged. In short, there has been more theory and less practical in the academic curriculum, hence, the deficiency of interpersonal skills

In order to resolve this issue, there are some solutions that would be suggested. One measure is to restructure many schools to assess practical works in their academic syllabuses. In other words, grades should be awarded to students who successfully carry out their industrial training, just as it is done in many higher institutions in the United Kingdom. Another suggestion is that fathers and mothers should note that extra-curricular activity is as important as academic ones and it should be encouraged because communication skills are practiced more during such activity.

In conclusion, graduates lack interpersonal skills largely due to their excessive focus on theory. If practical assessments are taken seriously and efforts are made to participate in extracurricular activities, then there would be vast improvement in relationship skills by university graduates at workplace.