It is important to give children the chance to act independently and make their own decisions from early age. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that providing children the option to think independently and enabling them to make their own choices is vital for them. I totally disagree with this statement as giving such opportunity can lead children to follow inappropriate path and can also bring disrespect towards elders.

The main reason why independence for kids on taking personal decisions is harmful is because this can easily deviate them from their path. Children can come under influence of others quite easily and don't think what could be the long-term effect. This can lead them to become a drug addict or an alcoholic which eventually affects them in negative way. According to one research published in NY Times it indicated that children who were given freedom to make choices of their life had 30% less probability to achieve financial stability. Thus, poor judgement capabilities and immature mindset can be detrimental to children's future.

Another disadvantage is that kids taking their own decisions do not respect their parents or elders enough. If children have become successful after implementing their own decision, they develop false belief that they don't need anyone's help. This behavior can make that child egoist and often behaves poorly with his parents or other aged people. As a result of this, it can harm the society that he or she lives in. Moreover, when such children have to go through the difficult phase of their life, they fail to get helpful support. Therefore, it is quite important to have proper guidance for kids.

In conclusion, I totally disagree with the idea of giving liberty to kids to make their own choices as it creates serious impact on their future as well as can imbalance social setting. Kids should be able to provide their opinions but final decisions should be only made by their parents or guardians until they are matured enough.