It is much more convenient to watch a movie on television or computer than buy a ticket and go to the cinema. In the nearest future, the popularity of cinemas will drastically decline. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, more and more people prefer watching movies at home using the Internet or on television. Some believe that conventional movie theaters will decrease their popularity in the near future. In my opinion, I wholeheartedly agree with this idea.

The first reason why cinemas are being vastly dominated by TV and computer is that this traditional entertainment type is becoming outdated and inconvenient. In the days of technology advancement, people expect the most convenient way to enjoy themselves after work or study. Thus, going to a cinema seems to not provide such a requirement. With digital movies, individuals can access their purchased contents immediately without having to wait in line for a ticket. Likewise, people find it more comfortable watching films on television in their bedrooms and go to sleep when they are tired.

The second reason is that buying tickets at the movie theaters is relatively more expensive compared to watching online films and television series. These days, there is absolutely no competition for cinemas against digital contents in terms of prices. Many online services are currently selling contents permanently for the price of under 30 US Dollars per film whereas viewers have to pay 50 to 80 dollars for a cinema ticket each time. Additionally, the extra cost of traveling to theater locations is also another reason that prevents people from going to these old-school cinemas. Based on these facts, movie theaters are certainly becoming an unfavorable choice to the people.

In conclusion, I believe that cinema business will be radically annihilated by the expansion of home entertainment systems in the nearest future.