It is observed in many countries that less and less people nowadays go to the cinema to watch movies. What could be the possible cause and solution of this?

In today's modern era, cinema is playing a significant role. It is an important way to spread messages to the public and it also acts as a source of entertainment nowadays. However, in the recent years, people moving away from it. Due to fewer numbers of people prefer to watch movies or play in the cinema. In this essay, I shall discuss some possible causes and also would like to give my suggestion to increase the attendance in cinemas.

First of all, the Internet provides all the new released movies and plays. Although it is recorded from cinema or anywhere else, people like to watch it because it is free of cost. Because it is easy to find video over the Internet, public do not go to the cinema to watch movies. They know that after some time of release, the movie will be available on the Internet. In reality, there are many websites available where you can find many new released movies. Further, piracy is not limited only for the Internet. Many people, who do this piracy, burn CDs and sell it in the market. However, this is illegal but still it is being done in front of us. Furthermore, with advancement in technology, the time lag between the releases of movies is very less. At the same time, hundreds of movies are releasing. This trend kills the interest of people about cinema. Lastly, hundreds of channel over cable network playing movies on television. People know that after some time, movies will be played on television. So they keep patience and do not go to the cinema. Besides the quality of local cinema are also questionable.

To tackle this problem of declining cinema viewers, we need to face the piracy problem first. Piracy is the most affecting cause of cinema attendances’ declining in the modern world. Laws which work on piracy should be amended accordingly and strong punishment should be given to those who are found guilty of it. If anyone pirates this copyrighted property should be arrested and then this will generate a fear in others who pirates movies. Secondly, the websites which offer free download should be wiped out from the internet as they violets the piracy laws. If the public does not find any free download sites then they will shift to the cinema. Thirdly, the film production companies should not sell their newly released movies to the television channel owners. This step will definitely affect the watcher and they will move to the cinema. Piracy is an illegal act and the law enforcers should be active to prevent it. People should be encouraged not to support piracy. If a common man understands that the people are making a black money by selling a pirated CDs then definitely they will not support piracy. Thus cinema will, of course, gain some momentum with watchers. Lastly, local filmmakers should produce more authentic and entertaining movies that would make competition with the foreign movies.

To sum up, I would conclude by saying that the cinema will re-achieve its pace if necessary steps are taken and that should be done as soon as possible. However, the first step should be to tackle the piracy.