In the last decade, there has been an increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. While welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, other students see these courses as a poor substitute for classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course?

As more online courses are being offered to adults, different aspects of this learning medium have become apparent. Online courses offer students some advantages over studying in a classroom, however there are some definite drawbacks. The following essay deals with the advantages and disadvantages of online courses.

Online study provides the advantage of a flexible learning alternative for students. Using a computer with Internet access, students can study wherever they prefer. This could be at home, at work or even at a friend’s house, and at any time of the day. Students are also able to study at their own pace, depending on whether they find the material easy or difficult. As course material is available on their own computers, students can easily review material as many times as they wish. Furthermore, in the classroom, teachers may have little time to answer individual questions. In contrast, if students have any questions about their online study, they can contact their teacher using e-mail or bulletin boards.

Despite the advantages, online courses are not appropriate for all students and subjects due to the limitations of technology. If there is no access to computers and other expensive equipment, studying online is not an option for many people. In addition, lessons themselves are limited by the technology, in that it is difficult to provide practical experience online. For example, students learning chemistry would have no access to chemicals or laboratories needed to do experiments. They would only be able to study theory and simulations. Online students lack access to school facilities such as the library and the social aspects of face-to-face contact with teachers and classmates.

However, despite the disadvantages of online study, the benefits provide students with a valuable alternative to classroom learning.