Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and if so, how?

Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

At many schools learning English is considered to be more significant than learning any other local languages and it is also believed that the local languages may be at verge of extinction if they are not learnt in schools. In my opinion, I believe that English is an important language to be learnt, however regional languages also cannot be neglected.

English is an universally accepted language. In my opinion, I believe that it is necessary for all to learn English at school because of two main reasons. Firstly, learning English helps each and every individual to communicate better when they travel to different countries as they might not know the local language spoken in that country. Secondly, it helps in building up the economy of the country as the communication between the business persons of the other countries becomes much clearer as no interpreter is required.

On the other hand, I also believe that the local languages must be given equal importance as that of English language. Every individual must put in some effort to maintain the survival of local languages otherwise the history and culture of that region will be lost forever.

Learning of local languages can be strengthened when students at school are motivated to take local languages as their second or third language respectively. For instance the government can make it mandatory that the regional languages are included in their school curriculum and so the children are forced to study them.

In conclusion, I believe that although English is a world wide accepted language, it is also important to safeguard the regional languages from extinction.