Learning music is compulsory at a young age

It is argued by many that learning music or instruments when children are young is an obligation. To a certain extent, I agree that children should learn music at a young age. However, I also think that it is not compulsory for young people to learn.

On the one hand, I believe learning music at a young age has many positive effects. It is a common belief that music has many benefits for the development of human neurology. Scientists have proven that learning musical patterns can boost the brain and decrease neurologic diseases such as Alzheimer's or dementia. Moreover, music may enhance the ability to differentiate diverse intonation patterns. This could lead to the easy transmission of full speech and expressing themselves because they can speak with intonations.

Nevertheless, I still hold the view that it is not necessary for youngsters to learn music. It is a simple fact of life that talent is natural ability, and everyone has different talents. So it will be a tough journey to learn when they are not good at music. If they are forced, they don’t have time to do anything else and can’t find their true talent. Moreover, learning music costs a lot of money, and it will become a financial burden for families with low income. For example, nowadays, a vocal course can cost $500, which can be nearly the monthly salary of a poor family.

In conclusion, I agree that learning music at a young age is good for humans' neurology and communication. However, I disagree with the obligation to learn for some reasons.