Lectures were used in the past as a way of teaching large numbers of students. With the technology now available for education, there is no longer any justification for this way of teaching. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the opinion that live lectures are not imperative nowadays, as they may be easily replaced with recorded videos available for the same substantial amount of students. I personally tend to favour this view, because online lectures are more convenient to watch and they save time.

The most obvious argument in favour of technology taking the precedence is that it is easy to utilize. In other words, undergraduates may access it at any time, while, on the contrary, offline lectures by the faculty occur on a rigorous schedule; this, for example, constricts the chance of combining education and work for students. Moreover, a young person can return to the video again and revise the content effortlessly, that may have a beneficial effect on his or her academic performance. Finally, virtual performances are typically well recorded; therefore, the speech is always clear and understandable, that is rarely true for live lectures. This, in turn, has also proven favourable to the advancement of studies, as this allows students to effectively interact with the material and acquire the most from it.

Another reason why video lectures are preferable over their archaic counterparts is that faculty members are under no obligation to perform in front of an audience every week, whilst saving time by administering the material to more students. Fortunately, they may record the presentation once and then spend time on more worthwhile duties, such as scientific research and taking part in conferences. Admittedly, this approach develops a lack of interaction between lecturers and students. Indeed, young people may ask questions and suggest alterations to the agenda during regular lectures; however, this might be overcome with comments and feedback given by listeners on the videos.

In conclusion, despite the aforementioned minor disadvantage, it is still evident that benefits prevail over the downsides when it comes to live lectures being outdated. Not only does technology now available for education facilitate the process of learning, but also it provides free time for faculty members.