The increase in the amount of traffic is responsible for growing problems in many large cities and this has resulted in more traffic congestion, particularly at rush hour. What measures could be taken to deal with this problem? has been deleted.

The growth in the amplification of traffic in most major cities has led to problems of congestion in the peak travel hours. Such an issue can be solved by encouraging people to optimum use of public transport and establishing a state-of-the-art transportation system.

Local authorities must encourage the people to maximise the use of public transport. More and more people are driving their private vehicle instead of public transportation which is creating traffic jam problem within the city centre and highways during peak times. People must be motivated to use, for instance, subways, metros, buses or ferryboats to defeat the growing problem of traffic. To illustrate, one of the cities in India had experimented with an odd-even project, wherein people should travel by any mode of public transport based vehicle registration odd-even number on an odd-even day respectively. This experiment reduced the traffic clogging issue significantly in some crowded areas of the city by 50% and pollution level by 18%.

On the other hand, the government must establish new state-of-the-art transit mode to reduce traffic bottleneck. In other words, new transit technologies which are swift, economical, reliable and consumes clean energy is needed to implement to overcome congestion in cities around the world. Governments are collaborating with companies inventing such new transportation technologies. For example, Hyperloop is a new mode of transportation that will move passengers and cargos quickly, safely, on-demand loaded into hyperloop vehicle running underground in a vacuum tube.

In conclusion, traffic is growing day-by-day in metro cities resulting in congestion during working hours. However, using public transport and new generation mode of transportation systems could be a solution.