Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, the number of people migrating from one country to another has been increasing substantially. Residing in a foreign nation and communicating in a non native language can result in social and practical issues. I completely agree with this thought. In this essay, I will support my view with examples.

First and foremost, people shifting to a foreign land would need to adapt to a new culture and tradition, which sometimes may go against one’s virtues. For instance, Sikhs’ in India where turbans as a sign of their customs and traditions, while in the United States of America, which is considered to be a country for all religions and cast, such attire may be inappropriate and not acceptable in a social event. If persons did not migrate abroad, then cultural differences would not arise.

Secondly, individuals moving abroad for better job opportunities, face communication barriers. This is because they have to communicate with a foreign accent. To illustrate, engineers move to the United States of America, which is the hub for information technology, for pursuing employment opportunities. Communicating in the workplace in one’s local language may not be understood by many and can hamper the work. If foreigners settled abroad do not learn the foreign language, then tasks will not be achieved.

To conclude, people move abroad for a better standard of living and job opportunities. However, face serious social issues because of a difference in cultures. Furthermore, they also encounter numerous practical problems because of language barriers.