Some people say parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

There is no doubt that, children nowadays always get involved in some activity or the other during their free time. While some parents believe it is necessary for them to get involved with organized group activities, others also believe children should develop their own schedule to occupy themselves. In my opinion, I would support the latter view and will further discuss in this essay with examples.

On the one hand, those who believe that young people should get involved with social groups may someday become more dependent on other people. This is because group activities always require a partner in order to achieve a task. For example, to play tennis, which is a very common sport, will always need an opposite player to play with.

On the other hand, I would strongly believe occupying their free time by themselves, would bring in the innovation or hidden talent in them. As a consequence, children may try out new activities which they are most interested in. For instance, they can try playing a musical instrument by themselves