The main reason people go to work is to earn money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think work is just a way of maintenance, and a job is as well paid as its salary is. In this essay I'm going to discuss why I disagree with the thought that having a job is only for making money.

One of the arguments used to defend that position is that without a job you can't earn money, and money is necessary to live. Though I agree at some point with this view, above all when it comes to families with no other way to survive, we can observe in our society a lot of examples of people working for no remuneration. Volunteers, charities and non-paid internships. Some of them feel they are paid enough with the wellness obtained from contributing to make a better world and to help other people. In the case of interns, they make their job very often without any grant or fellowship, just for the pleasure of learning or gaining some experience. But there are other little group of people with patrimony big enough to live their whole lives without having a job, but even then, they work for different reasons: to feel useful people, to maintain all the efforts their ancestor did, or to fill in their artistic ambitions.

The other main argument is that salary is a good tester of success and one of the most important criteria for people when the choose a job. But I think other factors as working near your home, schedules, prospective promotion, and good working environment are as important as salary and play an important role when making a decision. It's known there are fields (as researching, for example) where people develop a very important role not so well-pain.

In conclusion, there are a lot of motivations for people to work, not only money although in same cases this is the imperative reason.