Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology is now replacing their functions To what extend do you agree or disagree

With recent astonishing developments of technology, reading materials can now be accessed from various sources, saving people the trouble of going to libraries. Understandably, many people therefore believe that it is not essential to maintain these public institutions anymore. From a personal perspective, though acknowledging several of their drawbacks, I strongly believe public libraries are here to stay despite its decreasing popularity for several reasons explained below.

On the one hand, it should be noticed that the drawbacks of public libraries are worth taking into account. Most prominently, the number of people coming to libraries for books seems to decrease significantly as a result of the proliferation of online sources in recent years. Therefore, the maintenance cost seems to be ludicrous and not commensurate with the little service it renders.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that there still remain some advantages of public libraries, one of which is their reliability. Storing carefully conducted and published documents and research work, libraries tend to have a confirmed and validated authenticity compared to that of online sources. Indeed, information from the Internet is often doubtful, sometimes even deliberately distorted to serve the malicious purpose of misleading people. Another factor is that public libraries nowadays seem to be more than just a source of information. People nowadays tend to consider these places a great work space because its calm atmosphere gives them a perfect sense of concentration that cannot be found anywhere else. With investments to expand libraries into a multipurpose building, covering not only the content sector but also cafeteria and meeting rooms, the prospect of people returning to these institutions is fairly promising despite the rise of computer technology.

In conclusion, although the benefits of online sources are undeniable, it should be remembered that public libraries are still an asset in our society, evidenced by the arguments above. The authority should attach great importance to maintaining and upgrading public libraries in order to promote the benefits of citizens.