In many cities young people prefer shopping as a form of leisure activity, why do you this this happens and is positive or negative development?

In recent times, culture has been shifting from need of certain things to show-off. Specially, young generation are more worried about how they look than what they are doing. Because of this trend, they tend to spend more time and money on shopping and it became their hobby.

Let us begin by looking at some of the causes of this development. Firstly, youngsters are becoming fashion freak and by looking at them, companies and designers are coming up with innovative and myriad of choices. Due to this young people spend like they are in the race of looking unique and trendy. This sometime lead to overburden on their pocket just to fill their wardrobe with variety of apparel. Another major reason is following celebrity culture. For example, once the new movie is released, sales of the dresses worn by actress increases rampantly.

Dressing up in the presentable attire based on the occasion is never been an issue but being reckless spender in my opinion is the negative development. By doing this, people are wasting their time and money both. If youth invest their time for some active leisure activity, it will help their mental and physical development. For instance, one of the recent study revealed that, the time one spend in leisure activity is directly linked to their psychological functioning.

In conclusion, current trending hobby of shopping in cities have many negative impacts. Despite of the fact that one should be dressed decently according to occasion, instead of impulsive spending on a shopping as a leisure, young people should spend on active leisure activity which can help improve their cognitive ability.