Economic growth is the only way to end world poverty. However some people says it leads to environment damage and should be stopped. To what extent do you agree?

It is being argued that the only way to relief of indigence is economic growth. Some people believe that it contributes to an impact on the environment and hence should be avoided. In my opinion this argument does not hold any water, rather governments should focus on the technology to find long-term and sustainable ways of development to end the poverty.

Thwarting the growth of the poverty-stricken country would be the impractical solution to save the environment. Plenty of nations are still suffering to provide basic needs to their citizen, where development can play a key role to diminish poverty and to serve humankind. In addition, scarce of money can contribute more to pollution by using cheap solution making higher environmental damage. For instance, Afghanistan which is one of the poorest countries, is in the list of top 3 highest polluted country in the world pollution index published in 2019.

At the same time, environmental change is the most challenging issue world is facing today. In order to cater both the problems, world should look for options for sustainable development. In other words, governments can focus on the use of renewable energy sources like solar and wind and plan out carbon neutral ways of achieving the goal. Additionally, government should also subsidize the use of such solutions which can make sure the progress minimizing the impact on environment. For example, Indian government took a step in this direction by announcing subsidy on usage of solar roofs.

To conclude, instead of stopping the economic growth of the developing nations, long-term sustainable growth using innovative environmental friendly solution can help the world to end the poverty with least possible impact on environment.