In many countries, the amount of crime is increasing. What do you think are the main causes of crime? How can we deal with those causes?

ESCALATION IN THE OCCURRENCE OF UNLAWFUL ACT HAS BECOME THE MAJOR CONCERN IN MOST REGIONS. UPLIFMENT IN THE NUMBER OF EVENTS IS DUE TO VARIED REASONS. THIS ESSAY WILL HIGHLIGHT THE FACTORS RESPONSIBLE FOR OFFENCE AND SUGGEST FEW SOLUTIONS TO DETER ITS FREQUENCY.

FIRST AND FOREMOST, THE LENIENCY IN THE JURISDICTION FOR ILLEGAL EVENTS IS A MAJOR FACTOR FOR THEIR ENHANCEMENT. THE PUNISHMENT AGAINST THE WRONG DOER IS EITHER VERY FLEXIBLE OR IS ISSUED AFTER A LONG PERIOD OF TIME. AS A RESULT OF THIS, THE PROSECUTOR ISN’T BURDENED OR MADE TO FEEL GUILTY AT A GREATER EXTENT AND HE/SHE MAY RE-ATTEMPT THE OFFENCE. SECONDLY, INSUFFICIENT SECURITY FOR THE PUBLIC MAKES IT ACCESSIBLE TO THREAT. THE VICTIMS AREN’T ARMED OR PROTECTED IN MOST OF THE CRIME SCENES. IN OTHER WORDS, ABSENCE OR LACK OF SECURITY GUARDS AT PUBLIC PROPERTIES, VIDEO SURVELLIANCE AT EVERY CORNER OF THE CITY AND POLICE PROTECTION AT OFFENCE FAVOURABLE AREAS ACTS AS MAGNETS TO THE CRIMINALS. THIRDLY, MAJORITY OF THE CULPRITS LACK NORMAL VALUES AND ATTIQETES. THEREFORE, ABSENCE OF MORAL EDUCATION ACTS AS A BURING FACTOR IN THIS SCENARIO.

ACCORDING TO THE PRECEEDING PARAGRAPH THIS ISSUE IS A COMPLICATED ONE. HOWEVER THERE IS ROOM FOR OPTIMISM. HANDFUL OF PRECAUTIONS AND BUNDLES OF AWARENESS DRIVE CAN HELP TO VANDALISE THE ROOT CAUSE OF UNLAWFUL ACTS ITSELF. JURISDICTION OF THE COUNTRY CAN PLAY A MAJOR ROLE IN BRINGING POSITIVE RESULTS. ADHERING TO ISSUE STRICT RULES,FAST TRACKING THE COURT PROCEDURES AND SCRUTINISING SUCH CASES CAN CAUSE HUGE PRESSURE AMONG THE CULPRITS. THEY MAY BE INTIMIDATED EVEN BEFORE THINKING TO PERFORM SOMETHING AGAINST THE LAW. IN ADDITION TO THIS, AWARENESS AND APPROPRIATE EDUCATION MAY ACTS AS A POSITIVE WAY OF FUTURE. MORAL VALUES,DIFFERENCE BETWEEN GOOD AND BAD DEEDS AND RESPECTING THE FELLOW MEMBERS OF THE SOCIETY SHOULD BE TAUGHT FROM THE PRIMARY LEVEL ITSELF. ACCORDING TO A SURVEY CONDUCTED BY CRIME BRANCH OF INDIA, MAJORITY OF THE PROSECUTORS THAT WERE UNDER THEIR DEPARTMENT WERE NEVER PREACHED ABOUT BASIC MANNERS AND ATTIQUETS. LASTLY, INCREASE IN THE SECURITY CAN DEGRADE THE POSSIBILITY OF CRIME SCENES. CCTV SHOULD BE INSTALLED AT EVERY POSSIBLE ROAD OF THE CITY,GUARDS SHOULD BE APPOINTED AT ALMOST EACH PUBLIC PROPERTY AND POLICE PATROLISATION SHOULD BECOME A DAILY AFFAIR.

ALMOST EVERYDAY WE READ IN NEWSPAPERS ABOUT HUGE NUMBER OF CRIMES HAPPENING ALL OVER THE COUNTRY, THIS HAS REMARKABLY INCREASED WIT TIME. NEVERTHELESS, PROMPT ACTIONS AND WIDE AWARENESS CAN ACT AS ROOM FOR POSITIVITY.