In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a house with friends. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples.

Nowadays, it has become very common for youngsters to leave their home and live on their own or with their friends after graduating from school. And this is the sign of positive development for both the individual and the society.

After finishing graduation a person becomes capable of making decisions in their life and staying away from home will make them mature by enabling them to understand things and manage stuff on their own. One can become self confident and learn to do household chores as well as cultivate life skills like time management, budget maintenance, savings, and so on. In short, they become responsible citizens who are capable of making a difference to the society.

Parents will also feel relaxed when they see their child understanding his responsibilities and becoming independent. Better still, they can find sometime for themselves. For example, they can pursue a hobby or some other interests. This is not exactly easy when they have grown children staying with them because then they will be spending much of their time taking care of the needs and wants of their children.

It is true that this way of living is also associated with some challenges. In some cases children get involved in wrong activities like drugs or crimes due to bad company of friends or roommates. However, this will not happen if parents teach their children to distinguish between right and wrong and make them strong enough to take responsibility for their actions.

In conclusion, although there might be some consequences to staying away from parents I believe that the advantages of this practice outweigh the drawbacks, for both parents and children.