In many countries, old or traditional languages are dying out or being forgotten, especially by younger people. Is this an acceptable development which occurs inevitably, or is it something which we should try to prevent?

In a great many nations, ancient languages have become obsolete, and their juveniles are particularly less eager to use them. Whether we accept this shift or attempt to preserve them provokes strong arguments, which I will consider here.

On the one hand, it can be said that this change is positive, and it will ease the way for communication. This, it is argued, would remove the language barrier in multinational societies, and help city dwellers to communicate faster and easier. Furthermore, supporters of monolingual societies may claim that this can lead to more unified communities. They point to evidence from countries such as the United Kingdom where this appears to be the case and urge other nations to follow suit. To the opponents of the idea, these benefits are convincing.

However, those who support the preservation of old languages promote the idea that they are part of their cultural heritage and should go down in history through the young generation. All nations who have passed this heritage down possess more stable communities, and this results in more flourish civilizations. Moreover, proponents of multilingual societies claim that keeping ancient languages alive may lead to more cultural diversity. This would help people from all walks of life to learn from each other and enrich their culture. This argument also appears to be quite powerful.

To conclude, while a uniform community would facilitate communication between their members, various range of cultures and their enrichment are the main advantages of passing down traditional languages to their juveniles. It would be more logical to inform the community about the consequences of both side of the issue, and then let themselves to make the decision to choose which approach.