In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect countryside and not build new homes there.

Do you agree or disagree?

Ever-increasing demands on new residential dwellings have left little alternative but to destroy the countryside due to lacking building space. However, some people argue that it is of paramount importance to preserve the country. I agree with this idea mainly because of the loos of natural features and damaging impact on the environment.

To begin with, turning rural area to a construction site would probably deteriorate the pristine condition of nature. That is, when the neighbourhood is destroyed, the natural elements of nature will be disappeared, which are mainly trees, the green vegetation, and animal habitats. Removal of these features in order that building residential districts seem to change the region both ecologically and environmentally beyond recognition. Moreover, interference of human-being in nature appears to adversely affect the fragile ecosystem of the neighbourhood. The overwhelming majority of wild animals have to move to another places; therefore, their natural habitat would be smaller and smaller by the development of urbanization. These changes may push wild animals to enter residential areas in order to find an ample amount of food. Examples can be seen in the north of Iran where due to fast-growing building construction, wild animals have to come to the rural area for seeking food. Finally, another compelling argument against launching this scheme is that the more countryside is spoiled, the more adversely the environment is affected. To put it differently, the fragile environment is threatened by the ill effects of human activities, such as producing sewage and waste. Take the waste which is a perennial problem for example; the city dwellers will continue to produce household waste; consequently, either dumping the waste in nature of burning it is certainly more harmful to the environment. Thus, it seems advisable to avoid spoiling the countryside by building modern complexes.

Admittedly, it is true that due to the increasing rate of the baby-boom population, the demands on residential houses has increased dramatically. Although building construction in the countryside appears to be a viable solution, owing to the advent of new technologies in civil engineering, creating underground cities and modern and taller high-rises, for example, seem to be better options to protect the countryside.

In conclusion, It seems to me that the problem of spoiling nature, changing living pattern of wildlife and damaging impact on environment combine together to render the idea of destroying the country in favour of city expansion illogical. New developments in construction technics appear to help reduce the waste of space in urban areas.