In many countries plastic bags are the main source of rubbish causing pollution in oceans and on land, therefore they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that due to an increase in the usage of plastic bags in some countries, it has become major cause of pollution on both land and in water. Some people think that it should be banned. I completely agree with it because it is killing marine life and wildlife, along with that it is problematic for humans.

One of the vital reason’s plastic should be excluded is that it has negative impact on creatures. As it floats in the ocean, therefore some species often mistake it for food, and consume it. This leads to choking and suffocation, which causes death. According to a study carried out in 2015, up to 40 percent of turtle died because of plastic ingestion. Next, it is an issue for animals. They can easily get entangled in this waste thus, getting killed. This was exemplified in one the national geographic video that numerous animals get caught in plastic waste, and due to entanglement, they are unable to move hence, getting killed by vehicles.

Another indirect problem is for humans. Plastic materials are thrown carelessly by humans, which litters on the road, and gets into drainage channel which clogs the drainage. Due to this, human beings are exposed to water-borne diseases.

However, some people think that its usage should not be prohibited because it is handy and can easily carry much weight which is convenient for grocery shopping.

In conclusion, although it might be pocket friendly and appropriate to handle weight, but its harmful effects and problems are irreversible, additionally, it has huge impact on humans as well as on species, hence, I strongly feel that it should be forbidden completely.