In many countries the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations

high standards of living and low birth rate lead to increasing life expectancy in the not too distant future in some countries. For this reason, the aging population is on the rise. I am a firm believer that this trend has positive and adverse effects.

On the other hand, From the social perspective, the elderly have positive effects on the young generation. Since they are highly experienced, they can help in some sectors of society, such as management, education or even in politics. Furthermore, not only can the aged population have immense impacts on the society, but also valuable experience has been passed from this generation to the younger one. Thus, the more aged population one community has, the more precious experience society specifically the youth can benefit from.

Conversely, the increasing number of older adults may cause financial crisis for governments in the long term. Due to the fact that government are responsible for providing dwellers with basic needs and wants such as healthcare system, accommodation and retirement, if society encounter aging population, government have no choice but to spend a sizable amount of money for these vulnerable population. take public transport as the most patently example, government in aging society are obliged to allocate more money for paying pensions and boosting healthcare system instead of improving public transport infrastructure, leading to economic recession. Research findings confirm that in these circumstances government are more likely to encounter persistent predicaments, so as to manage budget fairly.

In conclusion, however the growth of old population leads to financial issues in society, citizens can benefit from their experience. I take the view that it is high time the governments took this new phenomenon into consideration.