These days it is very common to have people from two different generation mix in the same workplace. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to this situation?

Nowadays, we see two generations work in tandem in one work area. While there are some disadvantages, I personally believe that the advantages are far more.

To begin with, two different generations can help together to learn new skills or knowledge. Since younger workers have high academic qualifications and older ones are highly experienced, they can help each other in order to improve their information. take work ethnic as the most patently example, junior staff can earn precious experience from superior staff who are skilled and familiar with moral values in workplace such as tolerance, sharing and tenacity. Thus, not only can older generation familiarize younger generation with valuable experience, but also younger workers can help the older ones to boom their theoretical knowledge.

Moreover, it is highly beneficial for employers to have varied range of employees with diverse knowledge, skills and motive. due to the fact that employers are responsible for assigning tasks to employees, the more different generations they have, the less predicaments they will encounter during dividing responsibilities. To illustrate, when employers intend to select a project manager, they can choose an older and skillful workforce with strong leadership skills and when they tend to create a research team for new technology, they can select an apprentice with theoretical knowledge.

Nevertheless, some argue that multigenerational workforce can bring about some conflicts. it is believed that if two generations with different perspective, skills, talent and behavior collaborate in one workplace, they will fail to work efficiently. it is evident that, the superior staff are not as motivated as the junior staff, for this reason, when younger workers do their best to achieve their objectives the older ones feel the younger workers intend to overtake their responsibilities. Therefore, it is possible to see some conflicts between colleagues in multigenerational workforce but I think these issues can be solved by well-suited management.

In conclusion, although some think multigenerational workforce can cause conflicts due to the different perspective, behavior, I feel strongly that employers can benefit from a wide variety of employees and workers can contribute together, so as to, boom their knowledge and skills. I take the view that it is high time employers took more attention to multigenerational workforce in their workplace.