In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people
believe that such a ban is justified.
Do you agree or disagree?
Smoking has been banned in public places like parks, hospitals, public
transport and restaurants in many nations. This essay agrees with this
initiative because it reduces the harmful effects of passive smoking and
also encourages smokers to quit.
The primary reason why making it illegal to smoke in public makes
sense is preventing people from having to breathe in second-hand
smoke. Passive smoking can lead to many smoking-related diseases
such as lung cancer, heart disease and stroke, and is something that
non-smokers cannot avoid in the presence of a smoker. The British
Medical Association found that non-smokers who were regularly
exposed to tobacco smoke were 4 times more likely to develop lung
cancer, than those who did not have to breathe in second-hand
smoke.
The second main reason is that this ban helps those addicted to
cigarettes quit their habit. When smokers and non-smokers socialise
together, the smokers are often ostracised from the group because they
have to leave the company of everyone else if they want to light up. As a
result, smokers who decided to quit would feel more a part of the social
gatherings they attend, and this should encourage people who smoke to
give it up. This has proven particularly effective in Ireland, the first
country to introduce a nationwide ban, where people have to leave a bar
or restaurant and smoke outside.
In conclusion, making it against the law to smoke around strangers should
be encouraged because it prevents innocent people from dying of passive smoking and reduces the number of smokers