Some would argue that people should follow local culture when visiting foreign countries whereas, others believe that a diverse culture should be accepted gladly by the host nation. While welcoming the cultural differences can help to increase tourism in the country, I believe that following local traditions can help visitors to

communicate and connect with local people.

Some would argue that people should follow local culture when visiting foreign countries whereas, others believe that a diverse culture should be accepted gladly by the host nation. While welcoming the cultural differences can help to increase tourism in the country, I believe that following local traditions can help visitors to communicate and connect with local people.

On the one hand, some say that the host country should welcome people from different cultures because it can boost the tourism industry in the country. In other words, when tourists visit a foreign country they feel uncomfortable and isolated because of the different cultures altogether. Therefore, if they feel comfortable then it can attract more tourists to that country. For example, according to a study done by the Guardian in the year 2016, Singapore has the highest number of tourists because they are multicultural society containing Singaporean, Indian and Malaysian. Despite this, I think that they should learn or have some information about the local culture.

On the other hand, if visitors are aware of the local traditions and customs it will help them to connect with local people and avoid conflicts during the trip. That is to say that if they follow the local norms and values, they can prevent themselves from getting into a situation of cultural misunderstanding. In Timor Leste, for instance, the tourists have to meet with the head of the tribe to get permission to stay in the village with the natives. The leader will give a punishment if the tourists break the rule. That is why I believe that visitors should give respect to local culture so that they can enjoy their trip without any problem.

To conclude, although accepting the cultural differences wholeheartedly can increase tourism in the country, I believe that visitors should learn about local customs and values to connect with local people and avoid misunderstandings.