In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking has always been an issue of debate since ages. Many countries are now starting to ban smoking in public places. In this contemplation I will explain why I agree that such a ban is justified.

Firstly, people who smoke are addicted to smoking as they have already made a choice of choosing pleasure over health. However, when smokers use public places for smoking then the people in the vicinity suffer the consequences of passive smoking. For instance, an old man sitting and smoking in train would become a nuisance for an infant and his mom sitting next to him. Also, according to a research the life expectancy of a person is likely to decrease if the person is a chronic smoker. Moreover, smoking in public places sets a wrong example for adolescents who start thinking that it is trend.

On the contrary, others believe that the business of pubs, rooftop bars, and discothèques is often increased as a result of allowing smoking in public. Such business would be negatively affected by such kind of laws. But, I think that choosing business over health is unethical. Furthermore, smoking in public places might trigger certain health emergencies in patients having pre-existing lung conditions. For example patients suffering from lung fibrosis, chronic obstructive lung disease (COPD) or asthma might require immediate hospitalization if they are subjected to passive smoking. Therefore, I agree that banning smoking in public places is justified.

In conclusion, I reiterate that smoking harms the consumer as well as the passive smokers in the vicinity. If smoking is not banned in public places then it might trigger health deterioration of patients having some concomitant lung diseases. Thus, I believe that the ban is totally justified.