In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Younger generation of 21st century neither follow news channels nor read newspapers. In the following contemplation, I will discuss various causes of this trend and the solutions for improving this situation.

Teenagers of this era are mostly glued to their mobile social networking sites and laptops. Therefore, they do not have time for following the international and national news as they remain busy with their own engagements. For instance, according to a research most of the adolescents would love to spend time browsing Facebook and Instagram rather than watching news. Moreover, teenagers who are employed are least interested in watching news channels. Since they are so tired after working for a continuous nine hour shift that they loose interest in watching news channels. For example, employees who reach home after a busy work schedule often love to watch entertaining and comedy channels instead of watching news which is mostly non-entertaining.

Various solutions to resolve this issue includes short news being displayed on social media platforms such as Facebook. Another solution is to include entertainment sections along with regular news on news channels and newspapers as it would increase viewers interest in watching the latest news. A short summary of the ongoing famous TV shows can be in included to attract youngsters who follow famous TV shows such as Big boss, reality shows, national talent hunts etc.

In conclusion, I believe that nowadays teenagers are interested in social networking sites whereas working professions remain busy with their work routine. Therefore, it is better to include positive news that include some sort of entertainment to attract young viewers. This would increase their enthusiasm and they would be more interested in watching the news channels and reading newspapers.