In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree?

Most of the nations are now banning smokers to smoke in parks, restaurants, hospitals, museums, and libraries. This essay completely agrees with this idea because smoking in public areas affects the health of non-smokers besides resulting in the decline of the tourism industry.

The primary reason smoking is ban in public vicinity is that smoke from cigarettes affects not only the smoker himself but also the passive smokers. This possesses a devastating threat to passers-by; an infant, pregnant women or an elderly resulting in a plethora of respiratory disorders and heart diseases and in rare cases deaths due to harmful smoke from tobacco. Hence, the health of non-smokers is safe when in public. For example, according to WHO, after Germany have declared to quit smoking in health centers, amusement parks, and restaurants the lung conditions of 50%-60% of non-smokers were improved and they claimed that they could respire in fresh smoke-free-air.

Another main reason is the smokers spoil the air in tourist hotspots; the natural atmosphere of these places gets worsened-up with the harmful smoke. To explain, tourists, play a big role in the development of a nation, they visit for gearing-up their mood and get rid of the daily humdrum of life. When they find the parks and historical places full of tobacco smoke and fumes, they would stop traveling to these soul-consoling locations eventually hindering the growth of the tourism industry of that nation. Hyderabad, for instance, has many artistic monuments and breath-taking spots, the government has declared to quit smoking in these places consequently resulted in an alarming rise of tourists of about 50%.

In conclusion, public smoking is prohibited in various states so that not only public health is ensured from cigarette smoke but also this initiative endeavors in the development of the tourism sector.