In many countries these days, the number of people continuing their education after school has increased,and the range of courses available at universities and colleges has also increased. Do you think this as a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many people are interested in pursuing their studies in colleges and universities when they finish their schools. Whether or not people should spend a lot of their time on higher education is a controversial issue. Both negative and positive aspects of this phenomenon will be discussed in this essay. However, I am of the opinion that advantages of such a development outweigh its drawbacks.

Firstly, higher education could increase the level of knowledge and awareness of the students. As a result, both individuals and society will benefit from this development and also next generation will grow up in a more sophisticated environment. That could be mentioned as the most important positive aspect of university studies especially when the broad range of courses are available so that students will be educated based on their needs and enthusiasm.

Secondly, when the majority of people of a country are educated, they could make more effective contribution to the development of the economy of the society as well as the economy of their own families. Indeed, when students are well-trained in the universities, they could implement their innovative and novel ideas in different sectors such as industry. Consequently, the economy of the country will be improved.

However, those who are against above mentioned arguments strongly believe that due to the fact that many universities focus massively on the theoretical concepts rather than applied science, it is the waste of time and money to follow the courses and programs in universities. So, people should go to work directly after finishing school.

In conclusion, I hold the view that higher education has many advantages including increase the level of awareness of people, development of economy together with make the people wealthier. Thus, both governments and individuals should consider the higher education as a key to success.