More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

Nowadays, many people are relying on their own cars rather than using public transportation system due to many reasons. However, such a phenomenon brings about some problems and this essay will elaborate some of them such as environmental problems, traffic congestion as well as safety issues. Moreover, one controversial measure to mitigate the problems will be discussed.

Daily use of private cars in cities, big cities in particular, will increase environmental problems. Indeed, each car could produce carbon dioxide that is the harmful substance to our health. In addition, more and more carbon dioxide could increase ozone depletion as well as global warming problems. Another considerable drawback of overreliance on private cars is traffic congestion. While public transport is very suitable way of conveying people in the city in rush hours, tendency of people to use their own cars that may convey limited number of passengers is the main reason of heavy traffics on the streets. Thus, drivers get nervous and may not arrive on time and also waste lots of resources when they are in the traffic. Finally, safety issues could be mentioned as the most important disadvantage of using private cars. According to statistics of road accidents, most of the deaths in roads are due to mistakes of drivers of private cars and public transport including trains, buses and taxis are far away safer for both passengers and pedestrians.

As a general solution, I strongly believe that government should take the lead and encourage people to use public transports by reducing transportation fees.

To sum up, I can see three major problems when public over rely on private cars and many people are not aware of them. Thus, both government and individuals should play their roles so as to improve the current situation.