In many countries today people are choosing to have fewer children. WHY is this the case? WHAT are the effects of this trend on society?

Raising children is not an easy feat. A myriad of people, in different countries, opt for having fewer babies in order to guarantee a better future for their children. This behaviour can have a positive impact on the community regarding improving its economic state.

To begin with, having less number of children can lead to a superior life for them. To illustrate, when parents have fewer babies, their daily and monthly spending can be reduced immensely, which means a higher opportunity for parents to save more money. They, as a result, are able to provide a prominent future for their children, including joining private schools and having a reputable health care system. For instance, a survey, which was conducted by sociologists at Cairo University in 2018, concluded that 70% of families with one child have the capability to save more money for the tuition fees of international schools for their child, while only 10% of families who have more than three children can afford this salient education to their children. Therefore, the less the number that the parents have, the better future for the children.

This attitude, absolutely, has its effects on society with regard to the improvement of its financial ability. Given the fact that society comprises its individuals, if people adopt the behaviour of having fewer children, it will lessen the total number of individuals in the community noticeably. Hence, there can be a surplus in the domestic output, moreover, the exports volume can be increased substantially. To exemplify, after a successful initiation launched by the Egyptian government in 2011 in order to urge Egyptians to have fewer children, birth rates were decreased by 25%, following which there was a significant improvement in the Egyptian economic system by 40%. Accordingly, it is only through birth control that society's financial state could be enhanced.

To conclude, decreasing birth rates is becoming a well-known attitude from parents nowadays because they want to make sure that their children can enjoy better educational and health levels. This trend has its impacts on the community as it may lead to enhance its financial state and increase local productivity.