Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. DISCUSS and give your opinion.

People have different views concerning the way how illegalities should be judged. While some people believe that each misdeed ought to have its own definite sentence, I hold the notion that factors contribute to executing the criminal act such as conditions and motives should play the major role behind each judgmental decision.

On the one hand, applying a set of sanctions for variable crimes, regardless the situation behind these crimes, this may form a hindrance for people from committing unlawful actions. If people knew that they will be sentenced to hard labor for taking bribe, there would be reluctance in getting accused with such crime; therefore, rates of law offenders can sharply decrease leaving society more secured. Thus, vast numbers of countries, one of which is Sweden, have achieved a remarkable decrement in crimes’ rates according to a survey by the Daily Mail in 2017. As a result, the more strict the punishments get, the more obedient the people become.

On the other hand, I would side with those who suppose that judging defendants has to be done individually, with putting in consideration all the hidden reasons for each situation. As some minor illegalities should be used to correct the behavior of its committers; moreover, imprisonment in such actions may not be the proper way to alter people’s attitude. For instance, applying parole and community service for students who get accused with burglary may have considerable positive impacts on their reforming rather than sentencing them to jail with murderers. It is, thus, recommended for authorities not to underestimate the evaluation of the situation before making their decisions.

To conclude, despite the capability of fixed punishments to improve people’s attitude and decrease crime rates, I opine that it is not applicable for all illegal actions as some might need to be approached differently in order to mitigate crime in society.