Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. DISCUSS both views and give your opinion.

People have different vies concerning the most drastic environmental issues that the world suffers from nowadays. Although there is some truth in claiming that the endangered plant and animal life should not be underestimated, I am inclined to believe that vast numbers of other problems are of greater significance in the meantime.

On the one hand, any decrease in the numbers of plant or wildlife would directly affect our finely balanced ecosystem. The sharp decrease in Pandas, which have been recorded as endangered animals since 1999, has contributed to the omnipresence of Cholera disease in China. The reason is that Panda feeds on bamboo trees; therefore, the absence of Panda caused the bamboo trees to grow in massive numbers. Hence, this up normal growth represented a perfect media for mosquitoes; the host of Cholera parasite. Thus, if one or more organism in our ecosystem became extinct, severe consequences will follow.

On the other hand, I would side with those who suppose that there are much more considerable environmental issues that should be focused on. For instance, global warming is putting the lives of thousands of people, plants, and animals on stack every year. Owing to the fact that its the driving force behind tens of natural disasters, such as tsunamis and hurricanes; therefore, it causes the death of an uncountable number of living organisms yearly. Furthermore, such disasters have contributed to departing thousands of families from their homes; moreover, they burden the economies of targeted countries with billions of dollars. None of these disasters would have occurred without the influence of global warming.

To conclude, despite the drastic effects of the extinction of some plants and wildlife specious, I hold the notion that people should pay superior attention to other issues that may cost them lives and money.