In many countries, traditional dress and costumes are considered effective ways of maintaining links with the past. How effective can traditional costumes be, in this sense? What other ways exist to help citizens connect with a country's past?

Traditions and cultural values play a major role to uphold the fabric of society. There are multiple ways to pass on social morals from one generation to the next. One particular form, traditional garment, might be a great visual reminder of one culture but it is far from being the most effective way to connect youths with previous generations.

Admittedly, traditional clothes serve as a great metaphoric presentation of a people. Vietnamese national costume, Ao Dai is well-rooted in its culture. In fact, people wear Ao Dai daily, at festivals and during historic events. Thus, any sight of Ao Dai could easily evoke memories linked to Vietnamese history. However, a part from being a reminder of Vietnam culture, not much information can be extracted from the image of Ao Dai itself.

To truly inherit the spirit of previous generations, other forms of media seem to be more effective. Take a documentary; for instance; it can describe in factual details a culture from its inception through major challenges during its forming years and up until the present; each key event could be illustrated with supporting footages or stories of people from the past eras. Similarly, books are crucial to conserve past values. While a symbolic piece of clothes might be limited in its storytelling and a movie, restricted in its duration; books can cover a subject as long as it needs. There are no restrictions in the number of words, pages in a book. If the topic is lengthy, writers can always break it into a series of books easily unlike in other forms of media where it would take a lot more time and efforts.

To sum up, even though traditional costumes can serve as a visual symbol of one culture, other forms of media such as books or movies are more effective methods to maintain cultural values.