Many doctors are concerned about the high use of computer games by children and young people. What mental and physical problems may arise from excessive use of these games? How could these problems be reduced?

As mobile devices become more and more popular, computer games have made it increasingly difficult for younger generations to maintain a well-balanced lifestyle. Let’s consider some potential drawbacks of video games and outlines possible remedies.

Let’s start with the first prominent psychological setback of playing video game compulsively. Video games are designed to engage players for a prolonged period of time through instant gratification features. Being addicted would prevent players from learning people skills and socializing with family members and friends. Another controversial topic sparked debates among audience and critics alike is the normalization of ultra-violence in certain games. Research has demonstrated the correlation between human behaviors and the media content we are exposed to. In recent memories, Slenderman, a popular horror game, was under fire when two teenagers, inspired by the event in the game, purposely injured one victim senselessly with a sharp object. Furthermore, oversexualization of game characters also increases unrealistic expectation of body images among young audience leading to low self-esteem issues.

The negative impacts of video games on physical health can be catastrophic. Sitting while playing games recklessly for a long time would reduce the number of calories burnt normally through exercises; thus, lead to potential issues such as obesity or diabetes. Repetitive movements of hands and wrists can cause numbness and chronic pain. Besides, compulsive gaming can also cause severe weight loss or lack of personal hygiene due to neglection.

One optimal solution to reduce game addiction is time limit. Parents or guardians can set time restriction on their children to help balance between work and play activities. Next, popularization of sports is a good way to detoxify sedentary lifestyles. An alternative educational game such as Duolingo where users can play and learn a new language is another innovative remedy. Lastly, to deal with extreme addiction, therapy sessions or rehabilitation centers would offer professional help to integrate hardcore gamers back to society.

Overall, the dangers of video game addiction pose severe mental and physical risks to avid players. Effective solutions include setting time restriction, introducing healthier alternatives or offering professional assistance for extreme cases.