In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news

on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own

knowledge or experience.

Being updated about the happenings around the world has been a challenge for young people. In this modern era of digitization, it has become difficult to follow the traditional method of reading newspapers or watching news channels. Hence, making them less updated about the local or international news. Let’s discuss the causes and the solutions for the same.

Firstly, due to easy access of cell phones young people choose to get them updated about the news through the internet. There are various applications which provide them news in short so that they can get roughly updated about everything. Secondly, the newspapers or the news channels are not much enticing for the young people to make them watch and follow it. Hence, it is boring for them to follow this older method to be updated.

The above issue can be resolved if there are necessary steps that can be taken by the schools by inculcating special sessions on reading newspapers. For instance, during my youth, I had a special reading newspapers class every Thursday and it would allow us to read a particular article of our interest. This will eventually led youngsters to develop a habit of reading and also being updated about the globe. The news channels can update it or have a separate channel for the youngsters keeping it interesting and also giving the facts and news of the world.

To sum up, I believe keeping up the youth updated about the global news is very much essential for any country either through developing better reading habits or through interesting news channels.