In many countries, women and men are working full-time. It is therefore logical for women and men to share household chores.

To what extent do you agree? Give relevant examples.

In most of the nations, women and men are employed full-time. It is therefore considered that both of them should contribute equally to household work. In my opinion, I totally agree with the statement and believe that sharing household responsibilities equally between working men and women will help to ease their burden and help to understand each other better.

The first and the most compelling reason why I support the view of dividing household work equally between men and women is that the work will be divided between two people and no one person will be burdened. In other words, sharing equally the household chores will give both partners enough free time, which can be spent together or devoted to some valuable activities. For instance, according to a recent survey in Western India, 75% of the couple that shared household work equally between them, believed that they are able to devote ample time to their hobbies, family and friends; thus, keeping them happy and satisfied.

Another argument is that sharing responsibility equally between male and female will help them to understand each other better. Since both are working and have the pressure of work and household responsibilities, both men and women will understand better how difficult it is to allocate time and manage both the tasks appropriately. For example, there is less number of divorces in northern India because most of the couples have full-time employment and there is a culture to share all the non-office work equally, that helping them to understand each other in a better and sophisticated manner.

However, there are a few vital aspects that cannot be overlooked in favour of one person working and another taking care of the home. It must be admitted that sharing responsibilities of the home can sometimes become a difficult task for one person who is ignorant about this work. He will have to face difficulty in managing both the work and might even become irritated by doing household chores.

In conclusion, it can be commented that distributing the household work equally between men and women helps the whole family and individuals at home. I believe that it can not only help to ease out burden of one person but also help to understand each another more appropriately.