Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development or a negative development?

Owing to globalization, the industries like hospitality, aviation, and tourism have increased tremendously in the last decade. developing countries are putting each and every effort to make this sector grow. While expanding the tourism industry is justifiable. but, it shouldn't be done at the expense of the basic needs of the nation.

One school of people who says it is a positive development put forth these benefits. The first and foremost is revenue generation. The places of attraction are visited by international visitors. they stay and spend money over there and thus bringing prosperity for the host country with them. Second, such expansions also lure foreign investments. this leads to a growth in the infrastructure of that area.

Next, it also provides handsome employment opportunities to the local people and helps them to upgrade the standard of their lives.

Besides this, the foreign visitors are attracted to local arts and culture. such exposure is always advantageous to particular cultures as they become more popular across the world. What is more, revenue generated from tourists can be used for the betterment of indigenous people and environment.

On the other hand, developing countries are already tackling the problems of health care, education, and so on. If governments continue spending hefty amounts on the tourism industry this will create frustration in the minds of its citizens who are struggling to meet their basic needs. Moreover, expansion and maintenance come side by side. it is seen many times that tourists throw rubbish like plastic bags, cans, etc. this raises not only the cost of maintenance for the government but also creates a threat to the environment of that nation.

All in all, I firmly believe that expansion of tourist attracted places is a positive development. provided it shouldn't come at the cost of basic necessities.