Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

environmental problems are becoming one of the severe urban problems for the authorities of most cities around the world leading to many other difficulties like heart attacks, respiratory diseases, and so on. Research shows that 80% of the environmental problems are the result of the all-time high vehicles on roads. To address this issue, an argument is put forward by some short-sighted people that increasing the prices of oil can be a solution in this regard. however, I do not agree with this view.

raising the prices of petrol cannot be an appropriate answer to the problem of environmental pollution for many reasons. First, majority of cities face environmental problems because of car users as middle- and lower-class people prefer to commute by public transport. Now, the affluent class of the society will not be affected by higher fuel prices because they can afford it. Therefore, cars on the roads as well as environmental pollution both will not see a decline. Second, raising fuel prices put a great burden on the economy of country that imports oil. this not only widens gap between rich and poor countries but also can be a cause of innumerable problems.

What’s more, owing to globalization, every sector is interlinked in today’s world. so, increasing the cost of oil will increase the landing cost of essential items like fruits, vegetables. which will contribute in higher inflation across the world. Besides this, there are many more ways to curb the problem of environmental pollution like enhancing infrastructure, better public transport facilities, making people aware about the environment concerns. In addition to this, governments can avail vehicles, which run on renewable energy at competitive cost.

On the flip side, some people argue that raising fuel price will affect the spending capacity of commuters. this will oblige them to reduce the use of private vehicles and depend more on public transport. however, considering the benefits offered by private vehicles this does not seem to be the case.

To cap it up, I firmly believe that though, the argument about raising fuel prices has some credibility. but, to my knowledge it will not bring the desired results.