Many elderly people are no longer look after by their families but are put in care homes and nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

The trend of nursing homes taking care of elderly people is quite common to see these days. Although, these care homes give best medical care to them but unfortunately they could not take the place of a family. In this essay I will examine various advantages and disadvantages of nursing homes and care homes looking after elderly people and provide a logical conclusion.

There are numerous advantages of nursing homes such as in this busy lifestyle, family members hardly have any time to take care of elders. To overcome this problem, we have care-homes. these care-homes not only provide medical care but also provide personal attention which is required by people at this age of life. another significant benefit of nursing homes is that the nurses are well-educated in medical field as compared to family members, hence they could manage perfect diet chart and routine medical checkup which could not be possible at home.

however, we cannot over look the disadvantages of nursing homes. The main drawback of admitting elderly people to care-homes is that they miss their family and feel home-sickness which further negatively impact their health. another major negative impact of care homes is that the nurses and other staff members are not emotionally attached with their patients, thus they ill treat them most of the time. As an example, recently a daughter installed a spy camera in her mother's room to monitor the behavior of nurse and shocked to see that the nurse not only badly behaved but even beat her mother.

In conclusion, nursing homes are boom for the families where all the members are working and thus could not take care of elder members. it provides the benefits of proper medical and personal attention. however, it has some drawbacks as well like home-sickness felt by elderly people and they sometimes become victim of misbehavior and ill-treatment by the care home staff. To some extent, we can overcome these drawbacks by regular and routine visits to these care homes.