Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is irrefutable that funds are majorly raised from the foreign tourist by visiting galleries and ancient sites. Mostly foreign travellers prefer to visit these sites more often as compared with residents. This essay will discuss the reason behind such an attitude and the probable solution to invite more local visitors to visit these historical places.

Various factors contribute to this behaviour of local people towards their native museums and historical places. Firstly, travelling is believed to be an important part of the visit at any location, however, locals do not need to travel a long distance to visit their nearby historical places, hence they avoid and prefer to move out of home location to visit any foreign sites. Secondly, locals are more knowledgeable about their religions or historical places than any other individuals, consequently, they lack interest in touring such places and are more willing to visit new places every time.

Many steps can be taken to attract local people towards their local art galleries. Encouraging youth by exhibiting local talent. The youths will be more involved if they are allowed to present their work and promote their art on national and international levels. This step will attract and encourage the younger generation especially to participate and visit these places. Another step can be involving more local people in the development and maintenance of such sites, the emotional bonds will be created and families of working individual will take interest in visiting these places more often.

In conclusion, lack of interest and long-distance travel are the reasons that local people ignore their native places to visit. More involvement of local people can be an effective way to gain more attention from local people to their regional museums and ancient sites.