Many museums and historical sites are mostly visited by foreign tourists, but not local people. Why do you think it happens? What can be done to attract local visitors to these sites?

Every country in the world is proud of its history and culture. The government tries to keep the essence of these identifying the historical sites and displayed in various museums. By visiting such a place gives enormous information to everyone who is enthusiastic about knowing the past. It seems that most of such places are often visited by foreign tourist instead of the local crowd.

Firstly, foreign tourists are prepared and eager to learn about the country that they are visiting and there couldn’t be a better and easier way than visiting such areas. Tourist department of every country is promoting their historical sites and museums through various channels like brochures, displays at the airports, advertisements on the television. Such promotions are reaching many international tourists and make them aware of such areas in the country.

On the other hand, many local people are unaware of the importance of such places and ignore visiting the places of interest nearby. People nowadays tend to visit such places aboard rather than their own country. This scenario can be changed by educating the citizens about the importance of such areas through local newspapers, television travel shows. Most of such areas are comes with an entry fee which is essential to maintain such places for tourist. Reducing the entry fees to such areas for locals can be adopted by the governing authorities to increase the native people’s attendance.

In conclusion, historic sites and museums are playing a major part in projecting a country’s greatness and culture. Such areas must be protected by the government and promoting a visit to such places must be encouraged for both foreign and local people.