Many parents believe that when their children read books for entertainment, they are wasting their time, and that they should read only serious, educational books. What is your opinion about this?

Reading is one of the most productive leisure activities one can perform in their free time. Numerous mothers and fathers feel that their offspring should read factual literature rather than reading themselves in fascinating comics or novels. However, this essay opines that this belief is preposterous as perusing different types of written material instill creativity among juveniles.

Many parents think that going through comic books and fancy tales is a futile activity as this printed material does not provide valuable information to the young readers and waste a significant amount of time also. However, such literature boosts the creativity of young minds which in fact helps to enhance their cognitive skills. Story books, for instance, are often accompanied by various illustrations and these visuals help the young readers to imagine different situations in their mind and ameliorate their perception.

In addition to this, factual books solely contain large amount of facts and figures that can be helpful in increasing a child’s grades at school, but are incompetent to provide valuable life lessons. Motivational books, on the other hand, are a valuable source of real life advices from intellectuals across the globe. For example, Wings of Fire, an autobiography from the former president of India Dr. A.P.J Abdul Kalam, is one of the most influential printed books which stresses on the importance of hard work and dedication and has inspired many school children and adults too. Thus, self-help and story based novels can help the minors to grasp some noteworthy life lessons.

To conclude, even though cramming encyclopedias can bring good grades in an exam but it can never broaden the horizons of a child. Fictional books can aid minors to enhance their perception which would make them responsible citizens of tomorrow.