In many parts of the world amount of garbage (rubbish) is increasing.

What are the causes of this?

What are the possible solutions?

There is no doubt that the piles of garbage are surging at an alarming rate around the various parts of our globe. The most obvious reason seems to be the negligence on the individuals' part; however, this problem is not insurmountable if the government could take some effective measures against littering.

The prime cause of the increased amount of garbage could be that the individuals do not respect their environment, and are not aware of the negative effects of littering on it. They do not bother to dispose of their waste properly, and think they could easily get away from it. As a consequence, there are piles of garbage, and once these piles have started other people begin to contribute to it without any hesitation. This negative trend does not allow them to think about its negative consequences on their environment. It is a common sight, for instance, in India where people throw their waste on the streets rather than using the litter bins.

Nonetheless, this situation could be tackled if the government could implement stringent laws. This would instil fear in citizens' minds, and could act as a deterrent against littering. Street cameras, to exemplify, should be installed to caught them in act and hefty fines should be charged. As a result, it would force those irresponsible citizens to behave responsibly by producing less waste, and eventually the amount of garbage would decrease.

In conclusion, the individuals' negligence could be considered the chief reason for the piles of garbage; nevertheless, the regime could change their behaviour by introducing harsher rules and regulations. If both the people and the government have acted sensibly, the nature would have been at its utmost beauty.