Many people believe that all zoos should be closed, while others claim that zoos have a positive impact. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Visiting wildlife parks has long been regarded as a common and enjoyable pastime among people all around the world. However, the establishment of such constructions has sparked heated controversy that raged for years. While the advocates of this act claim that zoos contribute greatly to human’s life, others insist on terminating the activities of these sites. In the following section, the pros and cons of wildlife parks are to be discussed.

First and foremost, it is widely accepted that zoos promote wildlife education by providing people with detailed and first-hand knowledge about animals. Thanks to the vivid experience of observing and even interacting with the creatures, people – especially children are able to broaden their horizons about the animal kingdom. Not only do zoological parks positively affect community’s perception of animal life, they also benefit people as an effective means of entertainment. Among several modern amusement activities, wildlife parks offer a marvelous connection with the natural world which certainly creates deep-rooted memories. The aforementioned perks indicate the beneficial influence of zoos on human’s life.

Despite their advantages, wildlife parks might worsen several pressing problems – one of those is animal cruelty. Specifically, poor living conditions along with ill treatments from keepers lead to the deterioration of zoo animals’ well-being. They are likely to suffer from serious weight loss and various fatal diseases, hence their limited life expectancy. Moreover, living in captivity disrupts animals’ natural instincts and potentially results in their mental illnesses as well as abnormal aggression. The presence of zoological parks might also aggravate the problem of illegal animal hunting and trafficking, which jeopardizes their natural habitats and threatens biological diversity.

Considering these drawbacks, I think that zoos should all be eliminated and the operation of similar services should be discontinued. Alternatively, more animal rescues or open-spaced parks such as safaris or reserves should be built in order to protect and cater for wildlife. This would encourage better appreciation of animals’ freedom and prosperity.