Nowadays computer education is compulsory for learners in most schools. Do you think this is necessary or will children acquire these skills naturally from their daily interaction with technology everywhere? Provide your opinions and give specific reasons and examples to support your views.

In this era of technological advancements, it is common that educational institutions provide computer training programs in their curriculums. Although some people state that this is unnecessary considering the fact that children can learn about technology through their day-to-day use of modern devices, I believe that digital literacy should be promoted as widely as possible in every school.

First and foremost, studying computer skills from a young age enables children to get exposed to a gigantic source of information and knowledge on the Internet. Instead of obtaining knowledge solely from teachers, young learners have the golden opportunity to widen their horizons with the aid of technology. Therefore, their studying efficiency is enhanced remarkably without being dependent on teachers’ instructions. Furthermore, it is undeniable that computer skills are indispensable in this digital age when almost all companies and organizations impose strict requirements on employees’ technological ability. In this sense, young learners can be greatly benefited when being taught about computer science at schools and be better-equipped for their future career.

However, early access to digital education can also bring about harmful effects on children who are in the process of mental and physical development. Owing to their tremendous interaction with technological devices, young learners tend to become reliant on or even addicted to the online world. This will possibly lead to a serious imbalance in their lifestyle, which causes mental and physical health dysfunction. To be specific, children may develop a sedentary living habit due to the lack of body movements and outdoor-activity participation. In addition, students at a young age are also more vulnerable to several online threats such as cyber bullying or sexual exploitation, hence the likelihood of suffering from a psychological trauma.

In conclusion, technological competence plays an important role in helping students adapt to the world of fast-paced digital development. Therefore, computer education should be implemented properly in all educational institutions. However, teachers and school administrators must prepare thorough plans before carrying out in order to prevent possible harm to students’ well-being.