Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In teaching, the use of rewards or punishments has provoked heated discussion among educationalists since these two methods of encouraging students’ performance have their own pros and cons. While many people claim that rewarding students help them achieve higher academic results, I personally consider this to be a negative act that has latent harms to the learning process and therefore should not be promoted.

First and foremost, it is undeniable that rewarding brings several benefits to students’ learning, especially in terms of psychological aspects. When being punished creates a considerable amount of anxiety and discomfort, being rewarded boosts students’ confidence remarkably, thereby motivating them to show active participation in classroom. In addition, rewards enable students to feel a sense of self-achievement and recognition since their improvement is acknowledged and treasured by others. As a result, students are more willingness and enthusiastic to study and contribute to the lesson, which leads to higher possibility of enhanced academic performance.

Despite the apparent advantages, employing solely rewards in education may result in adverse effect on students’ self-perception. The more they are rewarded, the more arrogant and overconfident they are likely to become, especially since students are not informed of their weaknesses. Therefore, rewarding potentially generates unhealthy rivalry among classmates when everyone yearns for gifts and prizes and ignores personal drawbacks. The use of rewards can also amplify peer pressure in classroom considering the fact that there are students of mixed levels studying together. Less competent pupils may suffer from mass pressure attempting to compete with their more competent peers. This type of burden can be extremely damaging to students’ learning habit and bring about negative long-term aftermaths in their results.

In conclusion, although the utilization of rewards can be advantageous to students’ attitudes in learning, it may still create a number of complex issues in the classroom. Therefore, I think that rewarding students should be considered carefully by teachers and school administrators.