Many people believe that educational standards have declined in recent time, particularly in the areas of literacy and numeracy,

discuss the cause of this problem and offer some possible solutions to it.

It is presumed that, lately there has been a downgrade in the standard of education; as a result, people are facing difficulties even in reading and dealing with numbers. In the following essay, I aim to identify the sources of this problem, including the overuse of technology in classrooms as well as some viable solutions including the changes required in the study patterns.

From my perspective, the significant contributor to the issue is technology itself. Many educational institutes are compelling kids to use tablets or calculators, while it is irrefutably true that they should be well versed with technology, however, this interference of external tools including calculators for performing calculations and tablets for reading, may inhibit learning and development of human brain. Kids in previous generation were used to use abacus or Vedic mathematics strategies, which in addition to solve numeric problems, helped kids to develop analytical skills. In addition to this, students nowadays are more inclined towards watching videos, rather than spending time with books, which is indeed detrimental to learning.

In order to improve educational outcomes, we therefore, should inhibit the use of external methods and gadgets in the classroom and should rather incorporate conventional methodologies and approaches in learning which would not just make our self smart, but also independent. Not to mention, focusing on learning from books will surely be beneficial for improving reading skills.

Drawing from this, learners should focus on using traditional methods and not being dependent on electronic equipment. Though they are not so convenient, I believe sometimes the harder way is the best way.