Many people believe that formal pen and paper examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement.

Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Students are being assessed by using traditional written tests for many decades. Many people claim that it is not an appropriate way to judge the caliber of children. In my opinion, written assessments are an integral aspect to measure the abilities of students but they should be incorporated with some additional tools to make the assessment comprehensive.

Those who are against the formal examination system claim that this cannot be considered as a precise method of evaluation. Firstly, exams put lot of stress on children and many children who otherwise perform well are not able to achieve good results in papers because of the pressure. Also, some sensitive students commit suicide if they fail to meet the conditions set by their parents. Secondly, this approach promotes rote learning among students, to state it, pupils study near the tests for the sake of getting pass marks and hardly have any practical knowledge about the subject. Last but not the least, one major drawback is uncertain circumstances, for example, a child who is very intelligent may get ill during exams hence, his performance will obviously get down.

Despite of aforementioned points, conventional written tests are considered reliable to understand capability of students, primarily it becomes easy for teachers to identify children as per their performance. On the other side, random tests conducted in a classroom situation includes one or two chapters and almost everybody scores good marks in those. Whereas, examination enables the pupils to work under stressful situations and which further assist them in the later stages of life. However, some multiple techniques such as quizzes, MCQ's and debates, are very helpful to enhance and improve child's knowledge to judge the knowledge in a normal classroom atmosphere. For example, certain percentage of activities conducted in class is included in summative examinations.

In conclusion, traditional tests are an ideal way to check the academic performance of children. Involving some other activities will definitely improve the results and reduce the burden on children